Food Lately.

Not every picture I take of my food seems relevant enough to include in my other posts, so I like to gather them all up in one  big food post every so often. Enjoy!

overnight oats for breakfast

I am loving my new breakfast. It’s overnight oats! 1/2 cup oats mixed in with ground flax seed and chia seeds, with vanilla almond milk, almonds, blueberries, and banana! When I made the batch for this week I didn’t have any greek yogurt, which the recipe also calls for (about 1/4 cup).

Morning coffee

Morning coffee! Okay, this isn’t really very telling of how I drink my coffee, but I wanted to show everyone my awesome mug! I have…a lot of mugs. And it’s because I drink A LOT of coffee. Usually Starbucks blend with some Soy Dream enriched vanilla soymilk.

pasta dinner

I have been craving pasta a lot recently, so I tossed it with some broccoli, asparagus, onion, garlic, shrimp, extra virgin olive oil, salt, white pepper, and red pepper flakes. It was delicious! And quite photogenic.

dinner

Soup! I love soup. This is asian inspired, pad thai noodles, onion, garlic, green peas, baby corns, and cabbage in chicken broth, with low sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, and  rice wine vinegar. And then a little cilantro for garnish. All measurements were “eyeballed”  based on my taste. I probably also added some garlic chili paste because I love a spicy kick. For protein, you can add some tofu or a little scrambled egg for an eggdrop-style soup.

more pasta

Even more pasta! It must look like I eat a ton of noodles, but honestly, these meals are few and far between. I guess they are just so pretty that I can’t help but take pictures.

stirfry

I love stir fry over brown rice! I usually throw in whatever veggies I have in the fridge with some low sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, siracha, and rice wine vinegar. My favorite veggies for this are peas, peppers, and baby corns. Its also my favorite tofu dish. I make this probably once a week.

Pico de gallo snack

Once again, I used the Pico de Gallo recipe from Budget Bytes. Quick and easy to prepare, and tasty even on it’s own with tortilla chips!

creamsickle

One of my favorite guilty pleasures is orange creamsicles. A blast from my childhood that is the perfect amount of tart and creamy.

fancydrink

This drink is my new favorite because it combines my two favorite drinks: red wine and a whiskey sour.
It’s called a New York Sour.
1 1/2 oz whiskey
1 oz simple syrup
1 oz lemon juice
1 oz red wine
Just mix up the whiskey, simple syrup and lemon juice, and pour over ice. Then, pour the red wine slowly over the back of a spoon into the drink to keep it from mixing in. Then, enjoy!

What have you been craving lately?

What is your favorite meal of the day?

4 Comments

Filed under Fooding

4 responses to “Food Lately.

  1. I love the mid-morning meal (basically lunch) best. I hate a big breakfast or a big lunch, but around 10:30 or 11 everyday I am starving and wanting something good and filling. Usually a small sandwich or tortilla is good for me. Then I snack for the rest of the day so I can run and then eat a bigger dinner. Usually some kind of pasta or rice meal with good protein and veggies. I am pretty boring!

    • Kristen

      I am a big snacker too, but I am probably more guilty of over-snacking. I’ll munch all day long and still have a big dinner…and then snack some more…

  2. Fooooooood….. cocktails…….. yum.

    Ok so since I’ve been living on gatorade and jello, I am craving an order of cheese fries with ranch dressing and a big salad with chicken breast, avocado and all kinds of yummy things from a local joint. Not healthy. Not redeeming. But so hungry.

    I like lunch or dinner the best. Lunch on the weekends, dinner on weeknights.

Leave a comment