Good news & long runs.

I have two bits of good news today! First, I’m already way over my total miles from last week! In fact, my run yesterday almost totaled last week in miles run.

4thrun

splits

I made the mistake of trying to run around the park and completely forgot about 4th of July celebrations. I was dodging people left and right! So I made my way down to the trail I usually take for longer runs. I had no idea how long this run was going to be when I started out but once I hit the trail, I was already 2 miles in and I figured, why not just keep going? I ran about a mile and half on the trail, and it started to rain, so I turned around and started back, eventually totaling just over a 10k.

runningtrail2

I love this trail–long and quiet–it’s really peaceful. But it really freaks me out when the cyclists blow past me without warning.

runningtrail3

And it follows a river!

By the time I finished, it was raining pretty hard and my phone was so wet that I couldn’t get the touch screen to work in order to end my run! Maybe I shouldn’t take my phone with me next time it looks overcast… It was a great run though – my longest in a while. It felt good to hit a stride again and not feel like I was dying the whole time. I still had to take a few breaks because my knee was starting to hurt — the post ACL surgery one — bleh. But there is definitely a difference for me between morning runs and afternoon runs, and I think I might just have to accept that.

My second bit of good news is that I just got a new part-time freelance gig! I’ll be starting soon with the Arundel Voice newspaper picking up a few stories on the side. I’m really excited about this opportunity. I haven’t worked in journalism for just about two years and I was starting to miss it.

arundel voice

The best part about the Arundel Voice is that they don’t cover “hard” news, things like political scandals or crime reports. They focus mainly on positive stories in the community — something I’m really pleased about because positive news is really fun to write about.

There were times when I was covering stories during my very first reporting internship when it was hard to sit through interviews because the stories were just so sad or uncomfortable. My very first assignment was covering jury selection for a murder trial for a 16-year-old. That was not so fun…

So my time with the Arundel Voice should be much more positive! Seriously, I am SO excited.

Do you run in the rain?
What are you excited about this week?

Want even more? Follow Medium Roast on Facebook Twitter!

13 Comments

Filed under Working Girl

13 responses to “Good news & long runs.

  1. Hi Kristen!
    I love your blog post because it sounds like you kept on going even though there were a few obstacles in your way. I don’t mind running in the rain, I live in Colorado so we don’t get a lot of torrential downpours that would make me float away. With that in mind, I signed up for the Disney Princess Half Marathon in Feb. I have already thought of what I’m going to do if it rains, Florida rain is A LOT different than Colorado rain :)
    I guess I’ll do what you did…just keep going!

    Great Blog!

    • Kristen

      I am so jealous! I have always wanted to do one of the Disney half marathons! I hope it is amazing. And I’m also jealous you live in Colorado. I have a ton of family out there and absolutely love the state. Plus, after running at such high altitudes, I bet it’s a breeze for you to run anywhere else!

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Congratulations, Kristen! It sounds like you’re really going to enjoy your new job and I’m very happy for you!

    I always wonder what I’m going to do with my phone when it rains, and this makes me start thinking about a lifeproof case. I need to get on that.

    • Kristen

      Thanks Jenn! I’m thinking I might start saving for a Garmin watch, but at the same time, I like the security of having my phone with me when I run. I’m really torn. On the bright side, my phone is fine, even after getting a little wet, but I think I would think twice about taking it out in a downpour.

  3. Looks like you had a great run! Those times look great!! I’m not a huge fan of running in the run…those days the treadmill is my friend :)

    • Kristen

      I don’t mind a light drizzle on warm days, but I would definitely think twice before going out when it’s pouring!

  4. I can run in the rain but don’t make it a habit. I may be a little different about it as a I train for my first full marathon, but for now I work around the rain.

  5. I love to run in the rain! One of my favorite things to do. In fact, all my races, except one so far this year, have been in the rain! I’m excited to get back into my running routine after a slight knee injury this week :) Have a good one!

  6. I have no problems running in the rain. Providing it’s not the downpour type. If it starts to be a downpour when I’m already out running, then I just suck it up and continue on and look forward to that hot shower when I get home. (I should mention it’s the middle of winter here).
    I’m excited about this week cause I get my last long run in before tapering. I have my 4th half in 2 weeks time and I’m excited about.
    I’m also spending time with my family, which is nice, cause I get a bit of a break away from the kids.

  7. I will run in the rain but I’m not really a fan of it. Great running week and congrats on the freelance gig!

  8. Congrats on the freelancing – positive stories would be fun to write about. I run in the rain – only lightning stops me!

Leave a Reply

