My good friend coffee

I love coffee. I love the taste. I love the smell. I love how focused I feel when I drink it.  Unfortunately, coffee doesn’t feel the same way about me. The doctor says I should cut back on drinking it every day. He also says I should stop eating cheese, chocolate, and wine. HAH! We all know that will never happen.

But for a brief period over the summer, I really tried to give up coffee. I drank mostly tea and those Emergen-C packets that are BS other than the boatload of B vitamins in them. Of course as soon as it got cold and class started up, meaning late nights reading and early mornings for work, I went right back to the holy coca bean.  But what I discovered was actually very interesting.

If you are looking for an excuse to kick coffee, I have some good news for you. You may actually function better off of it. After observing the difference between tea and coffee, I’ve noticed a few key difference at least for me.

1) Coffee makes me really anxious. I don’t get jittery (a lot of people do), but I get irritable and don’t like feeling crowded or stressed out. Coffee is supposed to make you focus and function better to avoid that stress since you’re getting things done, but coffee when you are in a position to not be working just makes you want to pull your hair out a little.

After the jump: More reasons you may consider switching to tea

2) Coffee definitely comes with a crash. Tea, on the other hand, does not. You don’t realize it until you’ve switched between the two because I never thought coffee had that affect on me, but it does. And tea really does wake you up in the morning. Maybe not as significantly or recognizably as coffee, but it really does work. At my internship this summer I finished my tea by 11am (wide awake!) and then switched to ice water for the rest of the day. No crash!

3) Tea after 8pm and you can still sleep. This is of course subjective to how caffeine affects you, but coffee after 6pm keeps me up till 1am. Tea right before bed and I can choose to stay alert and awake, or lay down and fall asleep.

4) Coffee is bad for your brain. According to this article, and  number of others, coffee actually causes the brain to, in a way, eat away at itself, needing to create more receptors for the normal chemicals that are being taken up  by coffee.

5) Too much coffee gives me a headache. Too much tea just makes me pee more. Both ruin my productivity, but one gets me to at least get up and walking more often!

That being said– I love coffee and I don’t think I will ever be able to give it up forever. Nothing makes me happier than a Pumpkin Spiced Latte in the winter and small pleasures like that are necessary in life. And so many people will never, ever give it up even for a minute. It comes with a lot of perks that I won’t bother listing because anyone who drinks it already know how great it is! But if you need to or want to make the switch, even for a short time, to tea–it really is worth it, both for your health and for your productivity. With tea, you can never have too little or too much. With coffee, you walk a very fine line.

Just something to think about.  (Full Disclosure: I am drinking coffee right now.)

2 Comments

Filed under Living the Dream, Working Girl

2 responses to “My good friend coffee

  1. Joy

    Oh man, same thing happened to me this summer. I got the ulcers up in my esophagus, pain. But doc told me to quit and/or cut back on my fav things: coffee, wine, and chocolate, citrus, and tomato. What?!?! Sooo sad. But I do feel better when eating properly and cutting these delicious items put of my diet.

    • Kristen

      I share your pain! Every day is a mental struggle between the things I crave and the desire to not feel like crap. I’m glad your change in diet has helped!

Leave a Reply

