Because You Came Here for Coffee

I have noticed that a number of my views have been the result of people searching “Coffee”. Now I realize that the title “Medium Roast” is a little deceiving for a writing blog so I figured I would throw in a helpful coffee post for all those who were drawn here under false pretenses. I would hate for your clicks to be in vain!

I would  by no means consider myself a Coffee expert, but I can direct you to a few places that might be more helpful!

If you’ve ever heard of this magical, black hole called Reddit, then you may know about the coffee subreddit. If not, you have to check it out–they have a ridiculous amount of information about all kinds of coffee, but do tend to frown on those who are resigned to Starbucks and auto-drip brewing. It’s a great place to learn, or if you’re already a pro, to brag. They also host a Reddit Coffee Mug/Tea Cup Exchange through www.redditgifts.com which is going on now (and I’m also participating in!)

Another helpful site is Coffee Geek which seems to have everything from beginner’s guides to detailed reviews about the latest coffee products out there.

And if you’re looking for a fun mug? Check out Etsy! Lots of fun, hand-made mugs on here that are great for gifts (for a gift exchange) or just for your own sipping pleasures.

But if you’re looking for what kind of coffee is the best, I regret to say I can’t help you. I’ve personally tried all kinds and haven’t found any that are particular stand-outs. So I continue to drink anything caffeinated and cover it up with CoffeeMate’s Pumpkin Spice creamer. But from what I’ve read online, the only way to get really good coffee is to either roast your own coffee beans, or buy whole beans from online and then hand-grind right before brewing with a french press or via the pour-over technique. Sounds so simple, right? (read: sarcasm)

Hopefully this was a helpful find for you. Although this isn’t a coffee blog, I am a big fan of coffee and will often post related things. Don’t forget to check out the link to the right about the 5 Phases of Caffeine that I recently found on The Oatmeal! Surprisingly accurate as I’m sure most coffee drinkers will agree.

Leave a comment

Filed under Living the Dream, Working Girl

Leave a Reply

