Using Twitter During NaNoWriMo

As much as it pains me to admit, you probably shouldn’t be reading blogs while you’re working on NaNoWriMo. You should be writing, of course! If you really want to be checking what’s going on, take quick breaks and then get back to writing. Or to give quick shout out for your word count! To do this, you should probably be using Twitter.

Granted, pretty much everyone is already on Twitter. I was a hold out for a long time until I realized the community of writers that are on it and that I was missing out on. For this situation, it’s perfect. It’s quick!. You can check it pretty fast and then jump right off it again. But Twitter is also an easy trap to fall into. So if you’re going to use Twitter, use it right, and use it responsibly!

1) Follow the right people. If you have to make a brand new twitter account to follow only certain group o people, or unfollow a few friends from your main account for the next month–do it. Surround yourself with people who will motivate and inspire you. Did your friend Sally just hit the 10,000 words but you’re only on 7,000? Oh hell no! Use these people to keep you motivated and on task.

2) Post your word count every time you write 1,000 words or each time you hit your daily word count. You’ll inspire yourself to finish just to feel the satisfaction of tweeting it, and you might even get some congrats and positive reinforcement from your followers. Every little bit helps.

3) Add some humor to your feed. Follow a few novelty accounts to make you laugh. I am a fan of the Harry Potter characters myself, particularly Snape. But I just recently found the Fake NaNoWriMo tips twitter (@FakeNNWMTips) which is also hilarious. Perfect for those breaks where you just want to giggle.

Below are some great twitters to follow, both for tips and laughs, You never know what will inspire you!

@NaNoWriMo (obviously)
@NaNoWordSprints
@FakeNNWMTips
@chrisbaty
(Chris Baty, creator of NaNoWriMo)
@WriMosFTW (great group of fellow WriMo competitors; definitely check out the blog)
@KayEeeGee (ME! Of course…okay, just kidding–only if you really want to)

I also found a thread on the NaNoWriMo forum with everyone who will be using Twitter this year!

And here is a list of great hashtags to follow and use during NaNoWriMo!

#NaNoWriMo (obviously…)
#NaNoBlog (for bloggers who are writing about NaNo this month)
#amwriting
#novels
#novelists
#wordcount (clearly the most important one you’ll be using)
#writegoal (second most important)
#writequote
#writer
#writers
#wrotetoday

If you have any suggests for additions to these list, please let me know so I can add them!

3 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

3 responses to “Using Twitter During NaNoWriMo

  1. I find myself reading blogs right now as a distraction from what I should be writing. Ugh!

    • Kristen

      No, no. You’re clearly doing “research” for your next pivotal scene. ;)

      And I find that it’s okay to distract yourself with reading as long as what your reading inspires you to write!

  2. I really agree with this. I just got my first twitter account a week ago and constantly search for people doing “competition.” It’s pretty fun to see what others write about. I probably don’t spend more than ten minutes on it per day, but a quick post a few good reads from awkwardly funny people like myself and I’m set. Use it wisely or find yourself in the infinite trap of spying on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

