The Writer’s Block Myth

I spend way too much time online and as a result, I see way too many posts on blogs or forums about writers who have “writer’s block.” Forgive me for what is about to be a passionate rant, but I am so tired of this “writer’s block” nonsense. There is no such thing!

Why is there no such thing? Because writer’s block is just an excuse to not get work done. If you have writer’s block, you just don’t have a good enough reason to get something written. For me, deadlines keep me working. I don’t have time to not be writing. I don’t have time to sit in front of a blank document for hours on end because my next story is due in a six hours and I need to get to work.

And yet, I continue to see people posting about how they get over their writer’s block. How do you beat it? You accept that you don’t have it. You just start writing because you don’t have a choice.  You can’t give yourself a choice. You can’t give yourself an excuse. You get it done. You write what you have to write. And if you don’t get anything written, you don’t have writer’s block–you just aren’t motivated enough to do the work.

So to everyone out there googling “how do I get over my writer’s block?” Here’s the tried and true, forever tested and approved method of beating it. Just write. It doesn’t matter what, it doesn’t matter how much. Put words on a page. Because if you are putting the blame on “writer’s block,” you are taking blame away from yourself. And if at the end of the day your word count is still zero, you only have yourself to blame.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “The Writer’s Block Myth

  1. Finally, someone that shares my view!
    I’m about to write an article on the so-called writer’s block too. I think what people do not realize is that writing is the only way to get things done.

    They call “writer’s block” any momentarily lack of the inspiration, on which they rely too much instead of writing.

Leave a Reply

