Summer Coffee: The Cold Brew

So Ohio seems to have decided that it’s summer and that means it’s time to make the summer-time coffee switch. In the warm weather months, I tend to turn away from hot coffee because the weather is sweltering already and I have no desire to up my body temperature with a drink. But I still crave my coffee fix to get anything done, including writing, reading and any kind of housework that requires me to concentrate.

So the solution is obviously iced coffee. But for me, hot brewing coffee and pouring it over ice waters it down and just doesn’t perk me up quite as much.

The solution: The Cold Brew!

It takes a little more time then heating up some water and pouring it over your grounds, or turning on the coffee pot while you get ready in the morning, but it’s worth it. You just have to set everything up the night before. Try it out with the recipe below.

Time: 5 minutes, plus 12 hours’ resting
Yield: Two drinks.

1/3 cup ground coffee (medium-coarse grind is best)
Milk (optional).

1. In a jar, stir together coffee and 1 1/2 cups water. Cover and let rest at room temperature overnight or 12 hours. (I just used a red solo cup because I’m in college and don’t have access to any fancy shmancy jars.)
2. Strain twice through a coffee filter, a fine-mesh sieve or a sieve lined with cheesecloth. In a tall glass filled with ice, mix equal parts coffee concentrate and water, or to taste. If desired, add milk and flavors. (I only sent it through the coffee filter once and then the ice cubs alone watered the concentrate down enough for me.)

NOTE: To make hot coffee, dilute concentrate one-to-one with water and heat in the microwave.

The recipe is courtesy of the New York Times and the picture to the left is from Apartment Therapy.

2 Comments

Filed under Living the Dream, Working Girl

2 responses to “Summer Coffee: The Cold Brew

  1. Instead of a jar (or red Solo cup), you can use a cheap coffee press. Once the coffee is steeped, you just push the plunger and pour. Coffee presses are easy to find at Good Will – people buy them, never use them, and donate them.

    • Kristen

      Great suggestion! I’ve always wanted a french press but never thought of checking a Good Will for one. That would be muuuch classier than my solo cup.

Leave a Reply

