Frozen Banana Bites and The Copy Edit Test

Last week was a busy weekend. I went to the grocery store, I read some books, graduated college again…and I also worked my butt off trying to finish the F+W Media freelancing test to qualify for a copyedit/proofreading gig.

I can’t give out any specifics of the exam because that would be unethical, but I can say that it is an exhausting experience. I know that what they gave me is meant to have a number of errors to see how many I catch, and written poorly to see how I clean it up, but if I ever receive a manuscript that read like the pages they gave me I would suggest they fire the writer, and dock the pay of the editor that acquired the book.

My eyes practically went cross-eyed making copy edits and suggested revisions. And the proofreads, though less intense, made me constantly second guess myself. I’ve never looked up so many words I knew how to spell just because I was so paranoid that maybe I had been spelling them wrong my entire life.

I won’t get my results on the test for another few weeks, but I have definitely gained a new appreciation for what copy editors and proofreaders do. Their work is not easy, so if you are currently enlisting the services of one, thank them. I mean, sure, you’re probably already paying them, but thank them too!

Luckily, I was able to break up the mental jumping jacks by trying out a Frozen Banana Bite recipe from the (never home)maker blog, a new favorite.

But instead of coconut for the topping, I used some crushed walnuts.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 large bananas
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup vegan chocolate chips
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup natural peanut butter
  • Topping of choice
  1. Cover a large plate with a piece of parchment or wax paper.
  2. Cut up the bananas into good-sized chunks. Each banana should give you around 7 to 8 pieces.
  3. Heat the peanut butter and chocolate chips in the microwave on high, stirring every 30 seconds. It should take about 1-1.5 minutes. Stir until smooth.
  4. Dip the banana pieces in the chocolate-peanut butter mixture. Lay them out leaving some space between them on the parchment/wax paper.
  5. Sprinkle on your topping of choice and transfer to the freezer for about an hour until hardened. For best results, leave overnight and store in a ziplock container for up to two weeks.
Leave a comment

Filed under Fooding, Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

