Sorry About That, and Happy 2013!

The cardinal rule of blogging to never write posts apologizing for not posting. Instead, one should just make an effort to actually post. But it has been about a month since I’ve posted anything and I feel guilty–like I should apologize to myself, or something. So, sorry about that.

I have been neck-deep in work, family, and trying to maintain some semblance of sanity. Oh, nothing too stressful is happening in my life, it’s just about that time of year again when I question my ability to function in an adult world. This usually happens around the time I have to pay bills and acknowledge the foolish mistakes I made in the past month.

But it’s a new year now, and that means a quick review of 2012 and some kind of resolutions made for 2013. Because if I write them down and publish them on the Internet, I have to stick to them, right?

2012 Successes

  • Graduated, and earned a Master’s degree in English
  • Read my work to a crowd for the first time
  • Moved away from home in a permanent way
  • Got a real person’s job
  • Ran my first 5k
  • Wrote 50,000 words in a 30-day month

2012 Misses

  • Didn’t publish anything
  • Didn’t finish a personal writing project of any significant (excluding my graduate thesis)

2013 Goals

  • Run more 5k races, possibly a 10k
  • Complete a writing project of some significance
  • Publish a short story in a literary magazine
  • Read 30 books
  • Cultivate a better lifestyle (one that includes work, hobbies, and friends)

I have a stack of books I’m already gearing up to read, I have a very pliable schedule I think I can actually stick to, and I am eager to take advantage of these years. I am almost to my mid-twenties after all.

3 Comments

Filed under Living the Dream

3 responses to “Sorry About That, and Happy 2013!

  1. Wow – your 2012 successes kick my successes’ asses. Way to go. I have confidence that 2013 will be even more badass.

  2. Maria

    Happy 2013. This year will be great! It has to be! I found your info in “Children’s Writer’s & Illustrator’s Market”. I’m hoping to write a children’s book soon and explore the world of writing a little more.
    I love your successes and misses list. Congratulations on your degree and I hope you do more 5k runs. Running is fun. My girlfriends and I just ran the New Year’s 5k in Los Angeles, CA. It was a blast.

    • Kristen

      Thanks for checking out my blog! Good luck with your writing this year. If you have the CWIM book then you definitely on the right track. I really do hope to keep running. I think it feeds my writing habit. Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

