My UnDiet Week

CookiesI admit, I have completely phoned in my eating habits this week. I haven’t been on a run since my race, and I have been eating like….so many cookies. I have made an effort to eat fish twice this week, and some attempts at some hearty vegetables, but such efforts have been completely overshadowed by the  2-3 helpings I’ve also been having. Not to mention the various snacks and boozy beverages. All in all, it has not been a very healthy week for me.

I keep telling myself that tomorrow I will try harder–workout, and demonstrate some self-control–but then I get bored or tired, and that all goes out the window. Did I mention how much I love cookies? Because that hasn’t been helping either.

This probably stems from the fact that I no longer have any particular reason to be out running. I’m not training for a race and I haven’t set my sights on any specific goals yet. I have looked for races, but I haven’t found any in my area that I’m interested in. And when I’m not running, I tend to let my eating get away from me. On days when I work out, I am much more likely to stick to my goals. Go figure.

I think everyone has days/weeks/months like these. It’s normal. I read a bit about post-race depression and how common it is after a big race: it’s like there is a hole where the race was occupying for so long. Clearly, I am trying to fill that hole with food.

But I’ll let myself have this week–just this one. I did run a half marathon after all. But once this week is over, I really need to settle back into a set routine. The weather is beautiful and I am wasting these perfect running days by being lazy and sitting around on the couch. (I am, however, getting lots of reading done!)

Sadly, before I can build up a running routine again, I am really going to need a goal to work toward. And probably to learn more about running in general. Next thing to add to my reading list: What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fooding, Living the Dream, Running

Leave a Reply

