I really needed that nap.

Pillow ProfessorSometimes I get up in the morning and all I can think about is how happy I’ll be to go to sleep that night.

I try to maintain a fairly regular sleep schedule to avoid days like these, almost never staying up past midnight anymore. Instead, I try to get in bed by 10 pm, read for an hour, and be asleep a little after 11 pm.

Then, I set my alarm for 7 am and usually hit the snooze button a few times. I lay in bed catching up on social media on my phone for a bit and eventually, around 8 am, actually remove myself from under the covers and start getting ready for the day.

That’s a solid 8-9 hours of sleep a day.

So why did I feel the need to come home and immediately nap today? Maybe this was exactly what my body needed and I just had to listen to it.

This is a lesson I feel like I keep having to re-learn. While I was training for the Cap City Half Marathon, all I wanted to do was sleep. I was always exhausted because I was running so much. My body desperately needed the time to heal and recover.

And last week, when I took more rest days than usual, I wasn’t sleeping very well at all. It was as though my body didn’t know how to react to my not feeling completely exhausted from constant workouts, so it caused me to wake up at weird hours and never feel fully rested.

Last week finally caught up with me today and I just had to nap it off.

It’s important to listen to your body, especially when it comes to sleep.

Do you remember those online quizes you could take that would tell you if you were sleep deprived? I took one back in high school and answered “yes” to almost every single question. I don’t know how I even functioned back then! I wish I’d had the time to take naps during those years (a luxury I later took advantage of in college) because I think I would have done much better at everything I was doing (which was a lot.) Yet, somehow I made it through, and  looking back, I can’t believe I accomplished anything with how little sleep I was getting.

Now that I am an adult, I try much harder to get the sleep I need, and I think I am 100x healthier for it.

Don’t take sleep for granted! There may be more you have to get done in a day than there are hours for, but you only have one body, and it needs sleep to recover from everything you’re doing–not just physically, but mentally as well.

5 Comments

Filed under Living the Dream

5 responses to “I really needed that nap.

  1. I’ve felt like taking nap all day today. It’s a “twiddle my thumbs” type day where I’m not being very productive.

    • Kristen

      I feel like that every time it’s a rainy, overcast day. Today was sunny, which helped get me moving after my nap. Had it been rainy, I think I would have just stayed in bed until my actual bedtime…

      Days like that are perfect for catching up on reading!

  2. Ah yes, this totally resonates. Today, I had a toss up about whether or not I should allow myself to nap. Napping can be anxiety-provoking for me; I often wake up panicking about the time I have missed, how unproductive I’ve been, how selfish I am. I know I’m wrong. Rest is so important, and we really must listen to our bodies. It’s basic self care. Love this post

    • Kristen

      I know exactly what you mean! As soon as I woke up I looked at the clock and saw an hour had gone by, which sent me through a mental list of all the things I wouldn’t be able to get done today.

      The only thing that keeps my post-nap anxiety at bay is immediately getting something done (like writing a blog post.) Then I can tell myself that I will still be productive–possibly even more so since I am so well rested!

  3. I’m a big fan of naps. Even twenty minutes can make me feel better. If I’m worried about sleeping too long, I set an alarm.

Leave a Reply

