Poolside & a Bad Run.

I’ve finally had the time to just chill out by the pool and the weather could not be more perfect this week. One huge perk of working odd hours is being home early enough to hang out poolside before everyone else gets home from work. Although, I am always surprised at how busy the pool is, even at 3pm on a weekday. I mean, I know why I’m home that early, but why are these people free in the middle of the day? My guess is that they work night shifts at the local restaurants or are grad students on summer break (we live too far from campus to be undergrads) but either way, it still throws me off.

breakfast

I’ve recently gotten into starting my day with cereal. After I gave up cow’s milk, I took a few years hiatus from cereal, but I am really loving the new varieties of Kashi, especially with soy or almond milk. I’m still not sure which I like better so I’m doing a little trial to see which I prefer. Toss in some flax seed and fresh fruit = yum!

poolside
I love the way the sun hits the pool in the evening when the sun starts to go down. Everyone has gone inside (finally heading to work!?) and it’s my favorite time to sit out and just relax. The sun doesn’t go down till about 9pm so there is a good bit of reading I can get done before going inside.

Vegetable Dinner

I made myself some sautéed vegetables for dinner: zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms, onions, and asparagus. The abundance of fresh produce is probably my second favorite part of summer, right after the warm weather. I love the flavors of fall and winter, but something about a meal full of fresh vegetables just makes me feel good about myself.

Running Shoes; Bad Run

I went for my first run in like, two weeks. Ugh. It was awful. I barely made it a mile, struggling the whole way. The still-full stomach probably didn’t help. In retrospect I should have waited a little longer after dinner before heading out. I just didn’t want to lose the sunlight! Either way, I had to stop after a mile for about a minute, then ran another quarter mile, walked a bit, then started running again. I got through another mile before realizing I forgot to turn my Nike+ app back on before starting running again so by the time I slogged my way home (roughly a 3.1 mile run), the gps only recorded 2.3 miles. All in all, it was just a bad run. But bad runs happen. This was by no means my first bad run, nor will it be my last. At least I got this one out of the way and I can focus on my run tomorrow. It can only get better than today.

What’s your favorite part of summer?

2 Comments

Filed under Living the Dream, Running

2 responses to “Poolside & a Bad Run.

  1. Bad runs absolutely happen and they are OK. Use them as a benchmark to compare with your next GOOD run and then you can be pleased with your progress. In the summer, I tend to stop after every mile or so to use the chance to get some sips of water in because it is so hot and dry! Running is running so you are still doing well :)

    • Kristen

      I always feel so guilty about stopping between miles, but it definitely feels more necessary during the summer months. Hopefully the more I get out there, the easier it will get. Thanks for the support! :)

Leave a Reply

