Finally, Another Race!

After running my first Half Marathon back in May, I just haven’t been able to get myself motivated to get out and run. The weather is getting warmer, especially after this past weekend, and it’s getting harder to convince myself to get moving when I have to wait until late evening for things to cool off. It seems that when I don’t have a race to train for, I lack the motivation to make my workouts a priority. And after my awful run the other night, I was worried I had lost my running goove.

snack

But then last night, as I munched on my apples and peanut butter evening snack, I participated (for the very first time) in the Sunday night #RunChat on Twitter. It was amazing. So much enthusiasm for running! And at the end, they offered a 20% off  code for the Runner’s World Half Marathon in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania this October. Conveniently, my little brother happens to go to school up at Lehigh University (located in the town of Bethlehem). And that was enough to convince me. I signed up!

Runner's World Half Marathon

This will be my second half marathon ever and a challenging one at that. According to the website, there are FIVE hills! But they claim that it’s all downhill after mile 7…

I let my parents know my plans and we’ve decided to make it a Runcation! I’m really excited — this will be the first time my entire family will be there to cheer me on during the race. And now I have the motivation I need to get back out there and start training!

workout summary

splits

And that training started this morning. Apparently, my internal clock decided that at 7am, it was time to get up. Even if I tried (and I did) I couldn’t get back to sleep for my normal wakeup time at 8am. I know, I’m spoiled. I checked the weather forecast for the day and it was calling for upper 80s, so I decided that since I was up, why not get out there and go for a run?

It wasn’t easy. Already it was muggy, but at least there was a slight breeze and the sun wasn’t too intense.

morning street

I ran my favorite route, the perfect 3.1 miles to the park, around twice, and then back home.

the park

It’s was beautiful this morning, and I think I might have to this again real soon.

by the pond

I noticed that I was feeling some pain in my left achilles, which I think is because my left calf muscle is feeling tight. To be honest, I’m still not sure my current shoes fit me quite right – I’m running on a pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 8s that I got off Amazon for cheap. I can’t wait for the Mizuno Wave Inspire 9s to go on sale, which should happen as soon as the new 10s come out. Then again, I might just head back to the running store and get re-fitted again. Who knows, maybe my feet and running form have changed and these aren’t the shoes for me anymore. Usually I have trouble justifying a running shoe purchase unless it’s really necessary, but I’ll definitely be needing some new shoes come October…

purple shoes

How do you know when it’s time to get new running shoes?

2 Comments

Filed under Running

2 responses to “Finally, Another Race!

  1. What a pretty plate of apples!

    Hurray for signing up for that half! I know you said you avoid hills, but it sounds like you’re going to be taking them head on! You’re going to do great!

    When do you think the Wave Inspire 10s are coming out? I wear the 9s, and I love them. The pair I have are the first real running shoes I have owned, and I’ve got about 250 miles on them. I think I’ll need to get new ones in another hundred, give or take.

    • Kristen

      I wore my last pair, also Wave Inspire 8s, until they hit about 425 miles and then they started giving me blisters. That was my big red flag to get a new pair!

      And you know, I never really thought about when the 10s might come out. I guess I just sort of assumed they released a new shoe every year or so but then I never bothered to investigate further! Once training kicks in, I’ll probably need a new pair in the next 2-3 months and after some mild Googling, I don’t think they’ll be out that soon. Drat! Then again, I whole-heartedly believe a good pair of shoes is worth the price. So I’ll just have to keep an eye out for deals and pony up the cash.

      Thank you for the support! :) Good luck with conquering that bridge!

Leave a Reply

