Savory Sweet Potato Soup.

I know it’s summer, but soup is my absolute favorite food and I’ll find an excuse to eat it all year long. Today, it rained. Actually, it stormed like crazy. So that seemed like a pretty good reason to get some soup action going!

soup6

Savory Sweet Potato Soup

Ingredients// *can be altered to taste

1 medium sweet potato
2-2.5 cups broth (vegetable or chicken)
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp coconut oil (optional)
1 tsp salt*
1/2 tsp curry powder*
1/2 tsp chili powder*
1/2 tsp cumin*
1/2 tsp smoked paprika*

Step-by-Step//

1. Chop onion and mince garlic.
2. Put onion, garlic and coconut oil in a medium pot and bring to medium heat. “Sweat” the ingredients until the onion becomes translucent.
3. While the other ingredients “sweat,” peel the sweet potato and cut into tiny cubes.
4. Add the sweet potato to the pot and add enough broth to just cover the sweet potato cubes.
5. Bring to a boil and reduce to medium to medium-low heat. Let simmer for 15-2o minutes or until the sweet potato cubes are soft enough to mash. The smaller the cubes, the less time this will take.
6. Add the soup to a food processor (or if you’re fancy, use an immersion blender) and puree. My food processor is super small, so I added one cup at a time, pureeing and then pouring into a separate bowl. I repeated this process until the entire batch was completely pureed.
7. Garnish with a little black pepper and serve hot!

soup1

soup3

soup4

soup5

The soup is creamy, rich, and extremely satisfying. And you can use this same method with winter squash!

Enjoy!

soup6

What is your favorite kind of soup?

4 Comments

Filed under Fooding

4 responses to “Savory Sweet Potato Soup.

  1. Sounds great. I do a similar soup recipe in the fall with acorn squash, but I never thought to use sweet potatoes! I love adding just a bit of spice to sweet things.

    • Kristen

      I love how versatile sweet potatoes are. They can be super sweet or the perfect savory, and they’re always good for you!

      And I still have yet to try it with winter squash, but it’s definitely on my list for this year. I look forward to experimenting with new flavors I haven’t tried before!

  2. Yumz.

    I love a lot of different soups. Pasta fagioli, baked potato, Italian wedding, pea, lentil, curry pumpkin. I think I will try this when the weather cools down a bit. Even when it storms, it’s still in the 90s here.

    • Kristen

      Definitely more of a winter food, but also a great go-to when you haven’t been to the grocery store in a few weeks and are waiting for the next month to start because you already hit your grocery budget for the month. Oops, I’ve said too much. :)

Leave a Reply

