Smoothies & 2 miles of struggle.

Yesterday, I took a rest day. Mostly because a crazy storm woke me up in the middle of the night which totally threw me off. And apparently there is something icky going around at my office so I opted for catching up on sleep, but honestly, I was probably just being lazy.

So this morning when I awoke to grey and drizzly weather, I wished I had picked today to be my rest day instead. I almost didn’t get up and run. Weather is a huge deterrent for me, or rather, it makes a great excuse. But I didn’t want to be lazy and take two days off. Plus, I really wanted to run!

run stats

With much reluctance, I got out of bed and hit the road. Once again, getting a late start forced me to knock off a mile for time so it was another 2-miler. I decided since this would be a short run, that I would do it without any stops. Two miles with no stops? No problem, right? Hah! I wish.

It was brutal.

Seriously, it was rough–just all around uncomfortable. It was hot, muggy, still drizzling. I ran slow, but I didn’t stop, so at least there’s that. And at the end, I hit my distance, but I was so close to twenty minutes that I just kept going until I hit that mark.

I don’t know what it is, but this transition to running in the mornings is really difficult for me. A lot of it has to do with my not eating before hand. I can still get out and run on an empty stomach, but my workouts really suffer for it. I just don’t have the energy to do long runs and I can really feel it in my muscles. This morning, my lungs were fine but my legs were actually hurting…and it was only two miles!

Bad runs are frustrating and I seem to be having a slew of them lately. Maybe tomorrow I’ll skip the morning run and hop on the treadmill in the evening instead. It’s not ideal, but it might be good to actually get at least one hard workout in this week.

smoothie

On another note, I am really into smoothies for breakfast right now. They are easy to make, quick, and actually kind of fun to eat/drink. The only problem is now I have way too much to carry when going in to work: my lunch bag, my purse, my coffee, and my breakfast smoothie. Try opening your door with all that in hand! Thank goodness for cup holders.

The smoothie above was my breakfast yesterday, and is sort of a kitchen sink situation, using whatever I had laying around.

Things I typically include in my smoothies//

blueberries
strawberries
blackberries
rasberries
bananas
oatmeal
flax seed
chia seed
salad greens (kale, spinach, etc.)
peanut butter
almond milk
soy  milk
green tea
protein powder

There are a million more options. That’s the best part about smoothies: if it blends, throw it in! Later, I’ll put up some of my favorite smoothie recipes.

What do you eat before you go for a morning run?

What’s your favorite smoothie ingredient?

2 Comments

Filed under Fooding, Running

2 responses to “Smoothies & 2 miles of struggle.

  1. I’m still looking for the right pre-morning-run food. I was doing peanut butter on a rice cake and that was ok, but then I switched to just a spoonful of peanut butter and that didn’t work out so well. I think I’m going to do peanut butter on a banana next time.

    As far as smoothies… brace yourself. I don’t like them. I wish I did, but I really don’t love thick liquids (especially fruit-flavored). I’m a mess.

    • Kristen

      I used to do toast with peanut butter and banana slices, but it tastes so good I could never eat just a little and then would feel too full for my run! Maybe I need to try that again though.

      And I can totally see how the thick texture of a smoothie can be off-putting, especially with the various bits that end up in them form berries. I know I have trouble with kale smoothies because they seem to froth up and sort of solidify a bit after they’ve sat a few minutes. Eeewww

      Hope you’re feeling better after your surgery!!

Leave a Reply

