Festive shorts & morning workouts.

Exciting News!

You can now follow Medium Roast on Facebook!
And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter, too!

It’s looking like a pretty slow week, what with the holiday coming up and all. What is this day off work on a Thursday nonsense?  At least it breaks up the week a little, and I’ll probably just work from home on Friday since I would otherwise be the only person in the office. Most people will probably take a vacation day, but me? I don’t have any real plans so for the 4th so I don’t mind getting some work done from the couch.

american flag running shorts

I’m actually a little bummed that I didn’t sign up for any races on the 4th. I think I saw one nearby where if you signed up early enough you got a pair of very patriotic running shorts. But I’m so out of shape that it wouldn’t be worth it to sign up now. Maybe next year. Besides, I’m kind of excited to get to sleep in a bit.

workoutsummary

My run this morning was tough, but manageable. And it’s one of the farther runs I’ve done in a while, but I still had to take 3-4 breaks. Sad, I know, but my legs were killing me! It’s really the lack of fuel when I head out in the morning that keeps me from working any harder. I had half a banana this morning, but it just didn’t cut it. I think I’m going to have to start getting up earlier to make sure I get some food in me a little bit before I head out.

running time splits

My average pace is usually around 8:30/mi so this run wasn’t to far off (except for that first mile – yikes!). I was out for probably 45 minutes, but only actually running for 35 of that. Now I’ll go hide in shame.

selfie

I actually wore my hair down at work today! Usually I just throw it up in a ponytail or a bun, but it was so warm out that I didn’t mind just letting my hair air dry after showering. I really need a haircut to get some of my layers back. More layers = more curls!

neil gaiman poets and writers

My amazing boss, Jen, gave me her recent copy of Poets & Writer’s because she knows of my love for Neil Gaiman. This issue included a great interview – seven questions about his writing and his new book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I suggest picking up a copy if you’re a fan. And even if you’re not, he has some great advice about using social media as a writer.

How are you planning on celebrating the 4th?

Looks like it is going to rain here on Thursday. Guess I’ll just have to stay inside and light sparklers!

5 Comments

Filed under Living the Dream, Running

5 responses to “Festive shorts & morning workouts.

  1. Chuck

    I just can’t get it together enough in the morning for a reasonable run. The lack of fuel is a big one. And, my morning routine just isn’t “morning run” friendly. But, I still give it a go every now and then. Who knows…maybe one morning everything will be different. LOL

  2. My first mile is always much slower than my other miles so I wouldn’t worry about that! Those shorts…too much patriotism for me! I am probably going for a little hike and going to try to rest on the 4th since I am supposed to race on Saturday (though I think the ‘race’ will be more of a training run).

Leave a Reply

